Deplin

• Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#1 lotv25

lotv25

• Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 25 January 2008 - 10:21 PM

I work in healthcare and have BP and noticed a patient was prescribed Deplin with their antidepressant and said she felt better than she had in years. Deplin is supposedly just a form of folic acid, M-methylfolate or something like that... Has anyone heard of it, tried it, know anything about it?

dx: BPII, BPD, GAD with panic, BED.
Rx: Paxil, Risperdal, Xanax as needed, Seasonale, Synthroid, asthma meds.

#2 AirMarshall

AirMarshall

Jumping the CB Shark

• Pip
  • 6686 posts

Posted 26 January 2008 - 10:47 AM

Hmm, interesting. Yeah, looks like a super-duper megadose Folic acid tablet, available by Rx only. It mentions boosting three different neurotransmitters. That could really screw you up if things go wrong. Definitely not something you want to take without specific approval of your pdoc.

a.m.

**My work is done.  Swimming for the nearest shore.**

#3 Guest_artfully demented_*

Guest_artfully demented_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 February 2008 - 05:45 PM

I work in healthcare and have BP and noticed a patient was prescribed Deplin with their antidepressant and said she felt better than she had in years. Deplin is supposedly just a form of folic acid, M-methylfolate or something like that... Has anyone heard of it, tried it, know anything about it?