Posted 25 July 2010 - 11:57 AM

http://www.webmd.com...=wnl_dep_072310

#2 olga

olga

Life is better when you bring home a furry pal

• Inmate
  • 9966 posts

Posted 25 July 2010 - 01:18 PM

I'm moving this to the alternative treatment forum. While I agree with their recommendations to exercise, eat well, and get enough sleep, I can do all those things and still be depressed.

Thank goodness for Wellbutrin.

olga

I'm bossy, opinionated, and over 60, so be prepared for advice if you post a question. However, I am not a medical professional, so please consult a doctor about your mental health issues and medications.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Forgiveness is a strange thing. It can sometimes be easier to forgive our enemies than our friends. It can be hardest of all to forgive people we love. Like all of life's important coping skills, the ability to forgive and the capacity to let go of resentments most likely take root very early in our lives.”
― Fred Rogers

#3 sorrel

sorrel

• Inmate Emeritus
  • Pip
  • 965 posts

Posted 25 July 2010 - 01:31 PM

The end of that article does say there are levels of depression that the preceding recommendations won't help, so I don't think it's pooh-poohing the need for psychiatric treatment.

It's not really alternative (not that I take issue with forum location) but rather sort of common-sense basics for general mental health. Which is fine.

#4 WileE

WileE

• Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 25 July 2010 - 10:00 PM

I'm moving this to the alternative treatment forum. While I agree with their recommendations to exercise, eat well, and get enough sleep, I can do all those things and still be depressed.

Just because it hasn't worked for you, does not mean it belongs in the kooky unconventional forum with Scientology.
If anything, the ideas mentioned in this article are more mainstream that some of the whacky drug cocktails some have proposed.

#5 olga

olga