Is it possible to lose your emotions?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Brian

Brian

• Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 10 February 2011 - 04:32 PM

This is just something I was pondering the other day.

Is it possible to simply not feel emotions anymore? It sounds like a terrible place to be, but maybe a blessing in disguise for some.

#2 Mim

Mim

Gentleman loser

• Pip
  • 2137 posts

Posted 10 February 2011 - 05:34 PM

I often feel emotionally numb; even very strong feelings like sadness or distress feel distant, as if they are being phoned in. Mostly I feel nothing at all. It affects my memory, relationships, job...everything, pretty much. It has completely altered the way I talk and deal with others, as I have gradually come to suspect that all people are faking their emotions as I do--that no one actually feels anything, and therefore most of human culture is a carefully constructed facade. I am only beginning to understand that this counts as bizarre thinking, or perhaps even a form of mild paranoia.

"I THINK WE CAN DISPENSE WITH THAT BORING OLD SHIT, DON'T YOU?" Blaine asked.

Dx: Pending new doc assessment
Currently unmedicated

I kept a chain upon my door that would shake the shame of Cain into a blind submission.

#3 Titania

Titania

• Inmate Emeritus
  • Pip
  • 5260 posts

Posted 10 February 2011 - 05:43 PM

People with brain injuries specific to emotion areas of the brain fail to feel emotion, most people report that not feeling emotion makes their live not really worth living anymore. Emotions are signals, motivators and a language with others, not being able to respond to life events or relate to people makes life very joyless. Even negative emotions like sadness or fear kept primitive peoples alive, being able to dodge a predator or grieve a loss of a member of a tribe was what formed human society. Not being able to feel means we lose our ability to navigate life.