Photo
- - - - -

What do you take for anxiety if antidepressants don't help?

• Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 saoirse

saoirse

"seer-sha"

• Pip
  • 440 posts

Posted 09 July 2012 - 05:23 PM

I have a prescription for Ativan, but I don't use it too often as I don't like relying on benzos. I don't know, I'm weird that way.

I have pretty much a generalized anxiety. Just a lot of tension and worrying. My new pdoc is being quite cautious with me, far moreso than my old one. I had mood swings like crazy from the antidepressants that my old doctor prescribed that I'm just beginning to see now. Prozac made me off-the-wall manic. If the antidepressants weren't making me manic, they weren't doing anything at all (this was mostly the case).

What do you take for anxiety if antidepressants don't help? I think I've been on mostly SSRI's. I also tried Buspar and had racing thoughts/the worst irritability of my life, so I can't try that. I use Ativan but I'd prefer something that felt like less of a band-aid on the anxiety.

I'm curious as to what other kinds of medications people are on for anxiety.
dx's: Bipolar I w/ psychosis, anxiety
meds: 1500 mg trileptal, 600 mg lithium, 4 mg risperidone

"but i don't want to go among mad people," alice remarked.
"oh you can't help that," said the Cat. "we're all mad here. i'm mad. you're mad."
"how do you know i'm mad?" said alice.
"you must be," said the Cat, "or you wouldn't have come here."

#2 tryp

tryp

DBT = Diary Card Bingo

• Inmate
  • 6758 posts

Posted 09 July 2012 - 05:32 PM

Have you considered a longer acting benzo like clonazepam? You can take those regularly rather than needing to wait for a PRN. There are also the atypicals, though since you are already on one atypical, doctors likely won't be falling all over themselves to give you another.

You could consider one of the non-SSRIs that are sometimes more tolerable for the quasi-BP crowd. Remeron comes to mind.