Only teens? Really?!

• Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 wagmore

wagmore

• Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:37 PM

I'm so frustrated. I'm in my mid-twenties and struggling SO MUCH with cutting lately, particularly the past few weeks, although over last summer I realized that I have an addiction to it (when depressed). I try to look up resources and all I come up with is stuff about teens. Is anyone else frustrated at the assumption that this is simply a "young immature" problem??? I'm an adult in all senses...have been on my own since technically three days before I graduated high school even, never depended on a person for anything. Ugh I can't be the only one here...

Anyone else feel like they're in a god damn plinko board???

#2 bluechick

bluechick

• Pip
  • 1161 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:39 PM

Oh God no!  You are not the only one.  Stick around long enough and you will find a lot of people your age or older with the same disorder.  I've been struggling with SI for 25 years!

Dx: Bipolar Disorder I, ADD, BDD
Rx: Lamictal 300mg; Wellbutrin 300mg: Celexa 40mg
FAIL: Lithium; Geodon. Abilify

#3 wagmore

wagmore

• Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:42 PM

I feel like it's a 'stupid' problem to be dealing with (attention seeking, ect), even though I "know" it's not. I also know that the addiction isn't going anywhere, only maybe the severity of it.

#4 bluechick

bluechick

• Pip
  • 1161 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:46 PM

I feel like it's a 'stupid' problem to be dealing with (attention seeking, ect), even though I "know" it's not. I also know that the addiction isn't going anywhere, only maybe the severity of it.

It's a very serious problem.  And I, for one, don't think it's about seeking attention.  Many people who SI will tell you that this is a way that they cope with stress.  Some studies have found that it actually releases dopamine in our systems which can help explain its addictive qualities.