Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Jaytea

What am I going to do with my life?

15 posts in this topic

I'm having a freak out about school. I made a major life change a few months ago & decided to not return to the workforce and go back to school. I lost my job (that I loved but was stressed out about) in May b/c of MI problems.

I have gone to school off and on over the years and this is my first time back in 7 years.

I dropped out and withdrew from classes frequently due to my manias, depressions, GAD, and substance abuse. This time around I am sober, medicated, sticking with therapy, and educated about my MI. I'm having self doubt about whether or not I can really do this. I'm so afraid of failure and am experiencing a lot of anxiety b/c of all of the pressure that I am putting on myself.

Pressure about success, and feeling I can't succeed b/c of my MI. Feeling like I am not good enough. I feel like I am letting the fact that I am mentally ill get to me and bring me down.  Looking at it as a weakness instead of remembering how strong I am b/c of my experiences with it and by overcoming so many obstacles to get to where I am at now.

When my anxiety gets high in situations like this I tend to stagnate...which makes me fall behind...self sabotage occurs.

Anyone else experience anything similar to this?

I take Klonopin PRN btw for anxiety.

Edited by Jaytea

All the time.  I'm in the middle of it right now, which is why my reply is brief.  I'm too caught up in it to say much right now, but yes.  All of that.

A tdoc I see through group therapy said, "there is no way around, over or under fear...there is only through".  Anxiety is so hard to push through, but every time you do it, you become a little stronger.  And the next time you have to do it, you can remind yourself that you've done it before.  I just take things one step at a time and try not to let my mind get too far ahead of me.