CrazyBoards.org

Catnapper

How long before bed do you take trazodone?

My pdoc has given me trazodone + ambien to deal with the insomnia caused by the abilify + lamictal + wellbutrin combo I'm on for BP II depression. If you're using trazodone for sleep, how long before bed do you take it? The pdoc says it doesn't work right away like Ambien so I'll need to take it some time (minutes? hours?) before bedtime.

Also, does trazodone leave you very drowsy the next day? I hate it that straight ambien is no longer enough for me, not since the abilify was added, since ambien left me normal the next day.

Hmm, my pdoc didn't say when to take it,only at bedtime. I take it at 10, and am in bed by 10:30. That said, tho, it hasn't done much for me, the seroquel xr has been useless as well. I hope it works for you, I haven't tried ambien, is that new for you?

No, the ambien's not new, I've been using it for a few years, and it worked great. But when the doc added abilify to get me out of a depressive episode, ambien alone was no longer enough, so I'm trying trazodone plus ambien.

Good lord. Ambien and Trazadone? I used to be on the immediate release Seroquel and Trazadone at night, and I was sleeping like 13 hours. I was on 150mgs, and I'd take it, then it'd take anywhere from 1-2 hours to fully kick in. My pdoc took me off the Trazadone because she said "it wasn't healthy to sleep that long". That and the fact that I was kinda groggy during the day. The Seroquel+Trazadone combo was the best sleep I've ever gotton in my life. When I shut my eyes, I was out cold until whenever I woke up. I didn't wake up in the middle of the night or anything, just solid sleep. Everyone is different of course, so it might be totally different for you. Good luck!

When did your pdoc say to take it? You've got to see how it affects you first. If your pdoc gave you latitude, you can experiment to find the ideal time for you.