CrazyBoards.org

Ironman7

Addiction and mental illness. Which one came first for you?

I had suicidal ideation as early as 5 years old. When I hit puberty all hell broke loose. Violent mood swings, deep depression and cutting. Then when I was sixteen I discovered alcohol and marijuana......the beginning of my self medication. I'm now 40 and as I write this I don't even know how many meds I take. At least 10. I'm clean anyway, but my mind has paid an enormous price! 

I started taking prozac, the first ssri, when I was 17 and the results were miraculous! Unfortunately I already had a taste of drugs and booze. The Summer after I graduated high school I tried my first hard narcotic, cocaine. That first line of coke started a rollercoaster ride I couldn't get off fo 20 years. In those 20 years I've been on and off and back on more meds than I can remember and I've at least tried LITERALLY any drug of abuse you guys can think of. Go ahead try to stump me! Lol. Anyway, it all ended with me coming very close to suicide. Instead I went to a dual diagnosis inpatient detox, then further treatment. Now I'm in a residential program with a bunch of other dope feinds. I take a metric fuckton of medication but it's working. What's your story?

Edited by Ironman7
Incomplete

I was actually diagnosed with bipolar, bpd, and anxiety around the same time that I started drinking regularly (16). The drinking continually got worse and by the time I was 21, I was a full blown alcoholic. I was also a little too fond of cocaine for a couple months. And I'm still very fond of marijuana. I've been sober for almost 4 years. I think the excessive alcohol and drugs probably stemmed from trying to self medicate. I "didn't want to feel anything". But that was no way to live and I'm so much happier and stable now. Drugs and alcohol made my mental illnesses sooo much worse.

• Like 1