CrazyBoards.org

Blahblah

Starting 2mg MethylFolate - but my vitamin already has 800mg Folic Acid??

Question...My daily mutivitamin has 800mg Folic Acid. I wanted to start taking optimized Folate (just as a test) to see if it has a beneficial effect. Docs here do not do the gene mutation testing. Other problem, I'm in Europe where supplements are HIGHLY regulated. I can only purchase optimized Folate which contains only 1,000 Micrograms (equal to 1mg) which I worry might be useless!!

I've read most people take 10-15mg of MethylFolate daily. What should I do here? Is it bad to combine the 1mg Folate to the 800mg of Folic Acid that I already take? Perhaps I should just wait until I go to the US, and I can easily purchase/ship exactly the dose I want?

Posted (edited)

Hi BlahBlah,

The multivitamin I take has 400mcg of folic acid (labeled 100% RDA) and adding 15mg of l-methylfolate has been nothing but beneficial.  I'm not a doctor but I believe that any excess B vitamin will be cleared in urine.  I'm not sure you're going to see much response using only 1mg...the therapeutic dose seems to be between 7.5 and 15mg.  I wish there was an easy OTC solution for you there.

Edited by crow66

Thanks! I will see what I can get shipped here that won't cost an arm + leg for shipping & VAT costs. Then in the US, I'll pick up loads of the good stuff.

Do you still have that Amazon link I posted?

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• By Dontspeak
      Hola,
      Has anyone tried BOTH ($30) methylpro and ($58) deplin and have a review of efficacy for each? My pdoc literally just called me and said he's tired making people pay twice the price deplin charges, and wanted me to post, bless his soul.