Software Update Finished, feedback welcome Read more... ×
CrazyBoards.org

Hi guys, I'm new to the forum and newly diagnosed bipolar 2 after being misdiagnosed for ten years with anxiety, then major depressive disorder and finally in November, bp2. I'm on Lamictal, which so far I like. This week we increased to 150mg. I'm always itchy after an increase but usually no rash. I do also have eczema on occasion especially when I'm getting sweaty. On these meds I'm still having night sweats and in the creases of my armpits I'm getting what I think is eczema... And I scratched. I know, never scratch so now I have a little patch that's not bumpy but a little purple. Anyone know how to tell the difference between eczema and early signs of Steven's Johnson's Syndrome?

Edited by JazB2
Typo

I'm no expert or anything, but eczema is something that is more chronic and long-standing, whereas Stevens-Johnson Syndrome (SJS) is something that develops over the period of a short time with more symptoms than just topical skin symptoms. SJS includes symptoms like fever, flu-like symptoms, and painful lesions that form over the rashes. These lesions usually form around the mouth and can make it very painful and difficult to eat or drink. Conjunctivitis is also common with SJS and if not caught early enough can cause the eyes to swell shut. The rash can be purple in color though, so that alone concerns me (even though the same thing happened to me, and when I went to the doctor about it he said I didn't have SJS). Basically, from what I gathered, SJS is something you KNOW you have when you have it, but still, if you have any doubts in your mind as to whether you think you may have SJS, you really need to go to the ER immediately, as SJS is a medical emergency that requires immediate medical attention, even if it's not really SJS, because it's nothing to play around with.