CrazyBoards.org

Anyone with obsessive compulsive personality extremley hard on themselfs for making a mistake? I made a mistake at work today and although a solution was found its almost like the whole world came down on me..Even now i'm wracked with guilt,a feeling of inadequacy and a general feeling of not been good enough..I feel terrible..Whats this linked to? Is it perfectionism or is it more to do with self worth/esteem etc.

Part of me thinks its linked to perfectionism and not been good enough but what ever its linked to i feel really shit about it..I doubt i'll sleep tonight also..Lad who i worked with told me not to worry about it as everyone makes mistakes at work..I work in construction BTW and he said that atleast we have rectified it...Anyone who has this disorder found anyways to overcome this ? I'm not good with self talk and been kind to myself etc.I'm very very criticle of myself and when i do make mistakes like today then its like the end of the world has arrived.

Anyone out there got any tips for dealing with this?

It's so horrible. Even when it can be fixed or isn't a big deal it sucks massively. If I had a penny for every time I thought I was going to get fired...

I don't have any great tips because truthfully I haven't made a lot of progress. The only thing I can do is distract myself until the feelings die down but the smallest reminder can upset me again. 

IDK about you but part of it for me is the possibility of people thinking less of me. If someone still treats me ok then it relieves like 90% of the anxiety. Likewise someone being angry/annoyed makes it so much worse.

@ananke Would you say this is a OCPD thing or more a self esteem/Low confidence issue ?

10 hours ago, ananke said:

IDK about you but part of it for me is the possibility of people thinking less of me.