CrazyBoards.org

I feel like I have no value or purpose in the world really. I "work", but it serves no real meaningful purpose in the world, could be done by literally anyone, and is poorly paid. The only people who do the work I do are other people like me who are too dumb to make any progress in life. I really should've never been born. I'm just a burden on my family and society. I really am a complete screw up and an incredibly stupid, worthless person. I have a college degree, on paper. But really it's just that I must've gone to a shitty school where they actually mistook me for someone who has value to the world and isn't a complete moron. I wouldn't kill myself, but I just don't get why stupid people like me are even born. I guess idiotic screw ups like me have some sort of purpose to the world, but I just am having a very hard time seeing it. Sometimes, I have wondered if perhaps I'm just here as an example for other people of what failure looks like, so other people who actually have value to the world can avoid becoming screw ups like me. Or perhaps, there's something else that I'm just not seeing. 

Edited by Steve223

Steve223 -

I am very, very, very familiar with the state of mind you are experiencing. There are two factors at work: 1) The symptom of Major Depressive Disorder that causes the sufferer to generate and believe negative things about himself, and 2) Unanswerable questions about the nature of life, purpose, and being - in short, existentialist angst. The second factor is devilishly difficult to manage for a person who thinks a lot about it (I think about it all. the. fricking. time) but more importantly, it tends to reinforce the first factor.

Fortunately, the first factor can be managed with the correct medication and, I have found, with Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (your mileage may vary). The key is to train your well mind to become alert to what I call "red words". Let's look at your post and see what your red words are: