CrazyBoards.org
WinterRosie

Having Housemates Again

So, it's looking like, after a decade of living on my own with my partner, I'm going to be moving into a shared housing situation again. I'll be living with a friend of mine who is very mental-illness-positive.

Do I need to tell her about my mental health? I suspect that she knows that I have some experience with ptsd, because I've been very empathetic and compassionate with her when she talks about her own. But do I need to tell her about my DID? Or my depression/anxiety in case something happens?

Is it better to try to hide it from her? What is the adult thing to do here?

I wouldn't hide it, that would get tiring fast I expect, and possibly cause more issues.  If she's mental illness positive, you could suss out whether you want to openly disclose, or just sort of do it as you go - and as/if she needs to know.  That's what I'm thinking anyhow.   

I would tell her. What happens if you start getting more severe symptoms when you're living together and she doesn't understand what's going on. I would tell her when you are both calm/getting along well. 

I have never told housemates but I’m very secretive so consider that. I guess I might say I had some problems so if xyz happens, —what?  Tell a support person, what specifically, is what I wonder?  I guess it depends on what you would want her to do or be aware of, is my thinking. I don’t know how much you usually reveal or what feels comfortable or how close you are. I keep things on a need to know basis but others are more open and will probably advise based on that. I hope the arrangement works out, I’ve personally had both good and bad experiences. 

On 9/22/2020 at 4:23 PM, jarn said: