CrazyBoards.org
echolocation

how to continue after making a mistake

i'm putting this in the PD board because it's a product of my OCPD, but this thread is open to anyone who has perfectionist tendencies.

i started a crochet product for the first time in several years. i've made a few simple scarves and hats in the past. my new project is a beginner amigarumi doll. it involves introducing a second colour to create stripes. i had a strong start, but alas, i have fucked it up. my stripes are not aligned. the body is misshapen. i'm about 1/3 of the way through the project.

i don't know what to do. i feel terrible and worthless and useless for messing it up, even though i know i'm a beginner. i want to throw it all in the garbage. i feel so stupid for messing up a beginner's project.

how do you deal with feeling like a massive failure over something so small? i'm just trying to have a stupid hobby. i know this isn't a big deal but my brain is really beating me up.

Oh man, it's horrible when you try to relax and the perfectionism still ruins it. As Coraline says, you have to let yourself make mistakes, even when your brain sucks

IDK all that's coming to mind is that old CBT thing- when you are at your most anxious, keep pushing through it, otherwise you stay stuck in the anxiety. As perfectionism is part anxiety, perhaps the best thing is to continue, whether with the current doll or a different one. Can the unevenness be a feature? Like high fashion- it's not a mistake its a highlight

image.thumb.png.0ab34db1c7faa198c5032b6bd330aa82.png

Maybe you can crochet a cute scarf for the doll? I've started to really root for this crochet project 

I so feel this. I want everything I create to be perfect, but believe me, it’s not. And perfectionism is boring.