CrazyBoards.org

Bupropion augment for anxiety?

Hi again everyone, 

I'm looking for an augmentation strategy for bupropion XL 150, which helps tremendously with  my depression, but worsens anxiety (GAD/obsessive worry)...I had OCD as a kid and I find bupropion brings up some of those old symptoms, mostly thoughts not compulsions, but I don't want to go off it because I love what it does for my mood, motivation and patience. I don't have access to a regular pdoc but there's one who works with my GP who I've requested to see, but usually my GP just prescribes and clears things w the pdoc. 

Last time I saw him the pdoc suggested buspar, which I have tried for a number of months at 20 then 25 mg/day and it doesn't seem to do anything for the anxiety, helps a bit with bruxism though. 

His other suggestions were remeron but I'm super afraid of weight gain or lyrica/pregabalin, which sounds like it has a lot of weird side effects like edema and cognition stuff. I'm an artist and I am especially reluctant to try anything that dampens creativity and thinking. 

I've been curious to try lamictal for a long time but my GP is always like "you're not bipolar", but I know lots of people do take it for unipolar depression....any chance it would help with anxiety? I would be open to either augmenting or replacing the bupropion w this one...

Any thoughts would be so helpful!!! Thank you!!!

2 hours ago, Selkie said:

Any thoughts would be so helpful!!! Thank you!!!

I actually tried Wellbutrin for awhile, but I stopped it due to the extra anxiety.......I haven't tried Lamictal, so I can't comment on that one.....Buspar did nothing for me, either.

Here is a page I found with various meds used for anxiety disorders:     https://anxieties.com/152/med-intro   As you can see, there are quite a few options.

As for me personally, I take a benzodiazepine drug called clonazepam (brand name Klonopin) for anxiety.

Edited by CrazyRedhead
  • Thanks 1