CrazyBoards.org

Finally- ADD Inattentive DX

As I've suspected for most of my life, I'm both BP1 and ADD Inattentive. My pdoc put me on Strattera and is hoping not to have to go for stims.

How can I cope? What skills have you learned along the way? What can I expect from Strattera?

I have so many questions. Please help me understand my new DX.

As I've suspected for most of my life, I'm both BP1 and ADD Inattentive. My pdoc put me on Strattera and is hoping not to have to go for stims.

How can I cope? What skills have you learned along the way? What can I expect from Strattera?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Loon, when you say ADD Inattentive, do you mean ADD without hyperactivity? This is my dx. More often found in girls, females, and rarely caught when we're children because we are "well behaved" as little girls. Just a little "spacey".

I don't take anything for mine, and I have a high degree of difficulty with that. But I'm an addict type person so I can't take stims, and Straterra and Cymbalta just aren't recommended. So I have an appt. book and other physical reminder systems in place to help me remember and stay focused, but it's very hard. The only good news is, I'm disabled and don't work, so my missing appts., losing stuff and everything that goes with ADD can't get me fired!

Good luck with Strattera, let us know how it works or not.

Hugs,

S9

Can't really advise re BP1 or Strattera. (Maybe I'm a touch BP, according to pdoc, but not much, and no insight into it to speak of. Currently seem in down phase, but this only relates to sleep, it seems, and not to mood.) I do wonder if you'll need the Lex if you'll be taking so much Strattera.

What's so horrible about stimulants? Sometimes they do a nice job, and you know if they work pretty damn quick. What you don't know is how soon the side effects settle down, so it is sometimes worth ramping up. Seems like all the books say that even the addicts are better off with the stuff, in a properly supervised situation.