overthinkers?

I hate making small talk with new people because it makes me feel like they’re judging me so I trail off and no one carries on the conversation. then since no one’s talking the silence just kills me and it makes me more self conscious 

Eurgh! Small talk. I guess people do judge by how you respond to small talk, which is a bad way to judge. "It's cold today isn't it?" Well yes, obviously. I'm standing near enough to you that you can ask me such a pointless question so one can assume that I'm experiencing the same environmental conditions without having to ask about them. I'm not very good at small talk. This isn't a failing on your part because small talk is absolutely pointless. A way of saying something when you have nothing to say. I guess people people do judge, but you can judge them back. If that's all they have to say then why not say nothing? I think there's a lot of people here who struggle with small talk. I'm an introvert and it's always been difficult to know what to say to pointless questions without seeming rude. But, many introverts will talk your ear off if you mention something interesting, and if it's not in a large group.