Reducing Escitalopram Advice

hi all,

so a few of you know my story as posted within the bipolar thread i created. if not, i recently completed a lamotrigine titration with the daily amount taken now 100mg. anyhow, my doctor and i both want to reduce the ssri i'm taking, lexapro, although i've never done this before without failing and falling quite unstable.

so, she instructed me to reduce by 2.5mg, which i did five days ago and surprisingly, like extremely surprisingly, i feel rather fine. there were a few days of headaches and that's it. i realize that i could feel terrible in a week, but as of now it's looking promising. she did not tell me when to reduce the following 2.5mg, however, and will be unavailable for several weeks as she's on vacation. other on-call physicians will be available, but they don't know anything about my case.

there is a ton of variability when it comes to tapering antidepressants safely with some able to tolerate much larger and/or more frequent decreases than others. from what i've read, waiting at least two weeks is advisable before lowering further.  would those of you who have been through this before suggest that two weeks, should i continue to feel okay, would be sufficient before lowering by another 2.5mg?

thanks!

12 hours ago, basuraeuropea said:

there is a ton of variability when it comes to tapering antidepressants safely with some able to tolerate much larger and/or more frequent decreases than others. from what i've read, waiting at least two weeks is advisable before lowering further.  would those of you who have been through this before suggest that two weeks, should i continue to feel okay, would be sufficient before lowering by another 2.5mg?

thanks!

I can tell you my personal experience when I tapered Lexapro.....My doctor wanted me off Lexapro because I was also taking Trntellix, another SSRI.....He didn't want to risk serotonin syndrome, although I had been on both for several years with no ill efffects.