CrazyBoards.org

• 3 weeks later...

Diagnostic challenges. This is something I'm studying at the moment. Basically the DSM is bullshit. It relies on the biomedical model, which is way too simplistic. Depression is caused by a lack of serotonin. The evidence for that isn't great but OK. What causes the lack of serotonin? Genes which influence the availability of serotonin in the synapse? The evidence for that isn't great either. Obviously it comes down to genes and neurotransmitters at some point, but that's obvious and doesn't get us anywhere. "The diagnosis of MDD does not yet map very well with underlying biology or treatment outcomes." Yet? You're assuming that it should. There are indeed no easy solutions.

I have to write an essay on this topic. The lecturers at the university I go to are very skeptical about the DSM, to put it mildly. I do sort of agree. Anti-depressants were discovered by accident and the theory followed. But the theory hasn't been able to muster much supporting evidence. SSRIs work for a lot of people, me included, but saying that it's due to a lack of serotonin cuts out any other factors. And those other factors are a better predictor of mental health problems.