CrazyBoards.org

effexor / remeron causing anxiety

Hello everyone. I'm new to post, although I've lurked since last year.

My question, then history:

What would you add / subtract if you were experiencing anxiety to the degree of not being able to work productively?

I'm a 52 year old male teacher. I've been on 225 mg effexor and 30 mg remeron - for six weeks now and the anxiety and social contact paralysis has kicked up tenfold the last three weeks. I have the kind that nobody can really tell that I'm anxious, but I'm certainly not having any fun. I don't have any pleasure doing anything, really. I steer away from any physical contact with my wife; to a degree with my kids, six and nine. In all, I just want to be alone.

A lower dose effexor isn't effective - I don't sleep. Higher, I'm really anxious. I'm taking the remeron to help keep my appetite up. So I don't have the black dogs of depression, yet things aren't the way I'd like them to be.

I had been on celexa and remeron very successfully for two months till that combo pooped out. In fact, before the poop out, I thought that fateful thought, "this is it. I've come home." Before that I had been on prozac for several years. In the end, the prozac was actually causing me to explode. So I'm on this poop out train.

My pdoc has had me in recently to review, but he had a "get to know me again" agenda, which was pleasant and alleviated some of my fears, yet stirred the cauldron so much that I rebounded with that paralysis again when I got home. When I left his office I asked him what I should do with my meds - he said to let them be and to just let what we talked about cook for a couple of weeks. A couple of weeks?

Today, I left a message for him asking for a script for xanax, ativan, or klonipin. Anything to get me through the next couple of weeks till I see him again. I appreciate how he's made himself available to talk, however, I really just want him to run my meds till I'm at least feeling alright.