CrazyBoards.org

my life has been a disaster since graduating college

I just can't handle "real" life, apparently. I graduated college four years ago with a strong sense of purpose and confidence in my own abilities. I was called brilliant, told that with my intellect I could do just about anything I wanted in life. Unfortunately, I have learned since then that intellect alone doesn't fucking cut it in the real world. Not in the least. As long as I would have stayed in the sheltered, myopic world of academia, where intelligence obviously DOES carry a bit of weight, I might have made out okay. But I became suicidally depressed upon entering my PhD program and had to quit immediately. I didn't regret it but then I lost interest in my subject. There goes my sense of purpose.

I won't bore you with all the details but let's just say that with the combo of chronic severe depression and social anxiety bordering on agoraphobia the longest I've held a job since graduating college is nine months. I also have large gaps of unemployment so now my resume looks like total shit. I also just quit my job of four *months* yesterday because they treated me like the scum of the earth one too many times. Now I'm unemployed AGAIN. I have no idea what I "want to do with my life" even if I felt like I were in a position to choose, which I don't.