CrazyBoards.org

Hey all,

I've got a couple of issues right now that I'm pretty stressed about.

The first is that I'm starting a graduate program in the fall and I am soooo insecure and nervous. It's a completely different field and I feel that it's going to be a huge challenge. I'm just so filled with self doubt. For years I stayed in a sort of "comfort zone" where I was not happy with what I was doing for a living, but it was comfortable. Now I'm taking a risk by pursuing something that I think might be better for me...but I'm risking failure. I've always been an "avoider" of risk, so this is really tough for me.

The second thing is that I think I want to stop drinking. I don't know if it's my medication (Celexa) but even just a couple of drinks drank very slowly over the course of several hours and the next day I feel "confused" and out of it. I don't understand why it has to be like this because I very much enjoying hanging out with friends and relaxing with a drink or two and I will be sad to just stop...but it doesn't feel right to me to feel such an effect the next day from alcohol. (Does anyone else experience this?? Could it be a side effect from the medication? Or do some people just process alcohol differently from others?)

FYI, I'm definitely not an alcholic, but I do feel that alcohol has a very strong affect on my mood and my memory even though I drink pretty moderately and not very often at all (maybe a couple times a month).

yeah, i'd say your body can't process both Celexa and alcohol very well. is one drink a problem? do you make sure to drink lots of water to prevent dehydration? perhaps try drinking other fluids to see if it ameliorates the symptoms.

i don't have any advice about the grad stuff except to cheer you on...you got more balls than i do. i'm a comfort zone person myself. i hope it works out; meanwhile, why waste a summer worrying about it? what will happen will happen. who knows, you might be fabulously happy.