CrazyBoards.org

http://arts.guardian.co.uk/news/story/0,11...1653761,00.html

"Some of the genes that predispose to schizophrenia might be carried by artists and in many cases play a factor in their creativity, but because the artists do not develop full-blown schizophrenia and are able to direct their creativity, they are able to pass the genes on to their children."

Well, in my case I am an artist (non-MI) married to a bipolar. One of our 2 sons is autistic.

So I guess since artists are already half crazy, marrying and reproducing with a crazy person can get you some interesting results.

I guess this whole story caught my attention because I am an artist....and my hubby is BP and also very creative (but a writer type..not an artist).

Weird stuff like this is very fascinating to me.

I wonder if they will ever get the human brain figured out.

• 10 months later...

Van Gough is my favorite artist. Go figure. Somewhere in my massively bloated collection of links, I have a huge list of artists with various types of mental illness. It seems that creative genius and mental cooties go hand in hand. Skipping happily through the daisies ;) My male tdoc has said that people with mental illnesses often have very high IQs....Guess I'll have to go look that one up

• 10 months later...