CrazyBoards.org

Suspicious Package

I've had enough wine that I think I can write one of these now...

Hello, I'm Bipolar I. I take Seroquel, it makes me sleep for 12 hours every night, but I don't attack people or myself anymore. I kind of love Seroquel. Stops the ruminations that I used to think were just a part of life.

I am an artist and a musician. I draw, paint, photograph, Photoshop, write songs, sing, and play guitar. I just landed my second job as a visual artist, through sheer luck, after being unemployed for six months. It pays way better than my first art job, which was barely above minimum wage. I'm feeling optimistic, since they let me set my own hours. I know I'm lucky to have this job.

The Bipolar manifests in different ways. I used to live on my own and had a studio in my house. I was completely unmedicated and enjoyed staying up late and recording, writing, singing, creating. Music sounded incredible blasted through my sparsely-furnished, wood-floor house, and I was quite productive. I had a crazy, spontaneous sex life, punctuated by drunken one-night encounters with hotties half my age, and occasional anger-fueled bottle-smashing and self-injury. Lots of wandering around in Publix without buying anything. Lots of burning it at both ends, and dating the wrong people.

I also have the worst Pre-Menstrual Disphoric Disorder possible. Day by day I turn into a different person before I bleed - crazy-brilliant, but also anti-social, paranoid crazy. Paxil helps for this, but also robs me of my creativity.

Now I live with my mom in a different city. I'm on all kinds of meds, under the care of a psychiatrist (who I think is lazy, I'm right around the corner from finding a better one) and I don't have a studio to create in. I feel a bit impotent here, on Paxil and without a studio. But I'm with a great boyfriend who is also Bipolar (hooray, understanding!), and my mom, when she is here, is more understanding and helpful than she's ever been.