CrazyBoards.org

Newbie SO... wish I had a better handle on this

Hi. I'm new here. And I'm new to Dissociative ID Disorder. I'm the significant other of a newly diagnosed DID. I need to unburden myself a little... but mostly, I'd be very interested to hear from multiples or significant others of multiples. Advice, comments, opinions... all would be *very* appreciated.

It's my 23-year-old girlfriend, "L," with DID. She was diagnosed only a week or so ago.

Actually, I was a step or two ahead of the pdoc in this. The doctors had been thinking it was frontal lobe epilepsy (complex partial seizures). And then a few weeks ago the pdoc added bi-polar, and possible borderline personality.

But then she had a a harrowing two-day "seizure." She freaked out with anxiety on the way to work, and never made to the office. She wouldn't tell anyone where she was. But she would occasionally answer my calls to her cell phone-- though she wouldn't take calls from her family. And at one point she was apparently at an internet cafe and she had an instant messaging conversation with me.

That was when one of her alters identified herself to me by name, and made it clear she was an alter who had pushed L out of the way. And a day later a second alter revealed herself.

It was very creepy, but in a way a relief because her "epilepsy" wasn't like any of the things I had been reading about complex partial seizures.

I think I'm the first person any of her alters has revealed themselves to. Is this significant?

L lives in an extended family household, and I don't think anyone has ever suspected anything other than just that she's moody and kind of weird sometimes... oh, and she occasionally disappears for a few days-- which I think they impatiently interpret as *just* an attempt to get attention.

I've met some other alters who don't seem to know they are alters, or who L is, or know who I am.