CrazyBoards.org

These weird semi-hallucinations...

This just started happening to me about a month ago... I started hearing this music playing and it wasn't coming from inside my head. It was kinda freaking me out because it was singing about whatever I was thinking about. And shortly thereafter, I started seeing "shadows" all over the place.

They aren't full-fledged hallucinations, more like these weird see-through ghost looking hallucinations. Like an outline of what it is. Like last time I saw this baby crawling up the wall, but I knew it was just a hallucination.

And when I close my eyes to block out the stuff, I see all these weird-looking red and white things moving around really fast under my eyelids. They remind me of dozens and dozens of fire ants all right there in my face, and sometimes I can't sleep because of it.

Does anyone have any idea at all what this is, or am I just weird?

Well it does sound like hallucinations, but I am no expert. Are you manic or mixed right now?

Talk to your pdoc. I was in a similar boat last week if you go back and find my thread. It was very scary.

In my case it was being caused by anxiety and pdoc increased my gabapentin and it stopped. I didn't require an antipsychotic as I had expected.

No you are not weird, but it is disconcerning and you should definitely have it checked out asap. I'm sure something can be done.

Nope, I don't have anxiety or manic episodes or anything. I do have complex partial seizures, but I've had them since I was little, and I've never had anything like this before, so I don't think it's because of the seizures.

My doc says I'll have to start some new meds for the hallucinations, and that I should do some research to see what sort of drug would seem the best, but I really don't know...

Is it antipsychotics he wants you to research? What are the meds you are supposed to choose from?

I have limited experience with APs, but there are many here that could provide you with good information.