CrazyBoards.org

Group Therapy in Day Hospital for Bipolar

I've been going to a day hospital now for over a week now with no projected discharge date. I was wondering if anyone else out there in bipolar land has any comments on if going to a day hospital helped their mental status and if so, then how? I've had some mixed experiences so far and would like to hear about other peoples day hospital group therapy experiences.

Moggallanna

I've been going to a day hospital now for over a week now with no projected discharge date. I was wondering if anyone else out there in bipolar land has any comments on if going to a day hospital helped their mental status and if so, then how? I've had some mixed experiences so far and would like to hear about other peoples day hospital group therapy experiences.

Moggallanna

Hi. I've been to day hospital a few times. A couple of the times it really sucked. It depends on the quality of the counselors, and the quality of the hospital and how much they care about educating patients. Most of it surrounds educating the patients, it seems. Teaching them skills to use in their life.

The important thing is how much of it sticks with you or not. Some of it has stuck with me and some didn't.

One thing that really stands out in my mind is that in order to get the most out of the experience is to have low anxiety during groups. Taking your anti-anxiety meds before you go to group will really help things to sink in!