CrazyBoards.org

Does this sound like a lot to you?

I finally found a psychiatrist willing to treat my debilitating anxiety/panic with Klonopin.  I have never used medications like this before, but they work well for my mother. 

He prescribed me 1 mg Klonopin to be taken 3 times a day.  In addition he wants me to take Baclofen 3 times a day to help w/ my tension headaches. 

This just seems like a lot of dope-you-up medications for me to be taking!  Does anyone else think so?  I have to stay awake during the day, I have 3 little kids that depend on Mommy being awake!

Do you think I should ease my way in to taking them, or just start out full force?

ok gonna stick in my 2 cents since i've taken the generic form clonazepam. when i started out 0.5mg controlled my anxiety without making me really sleepy. so i was calm but alert. if i took 1mg it was like whoa sleepy as and headed for the bed before i wound up on the floor. that was before i built a tolerance ;) if you can break the 1mg pills in half i'd suggest trying half a pill first and seeing what effect that has on you.

NZer

Have to agree with NZer, I used them as a sleeping pill before I started on Seroquel.  I would start at .5 mg to see how they affect you, especially since you are responsible for kiddies.  Sulu

I also agree w/ PP's.  I would try breaking them in half, and maybe even try taking it PRN (as needed.)  Even if that ends up being daily, you might find that would only need it once or twice a day at .5 mg's.  IMO it's better to start at the lowest and least doses when it comes to benzos. Of course it goes w/out saying that I am not a Dr., and there might be a reason your dr. feels that you need that exact dose and schedule.

I personally take .5 mgs of xanax daily which I believe is a little stronger then Klonipin.  But even though I have been on it since last nov., I still start out w/ a .25 mg dose to see if it might work.  Somedays it dose. 

I hope it works for you!