CrazyBoards.org

Hey girl,

You know I am no expert, but I have a few thoughts.

The best way to find out what the doc is secretly thinking is to ask.

If you are routinely hallucinating, shouldn't you try an atypical antipyschotic, no matter what your dx? It might be a huge relief

I would think if you were the sort of schizophrenic who had a bad prognosis, you'd have more negative symptoms, more trouble finishing school and/or working, making basic connections to friends.  None of that sounds like what I know of you.

And if you're going to get well enough to live your life, then truly, the dx doesn't matter.  I know it's hard to feel that way, but still.

And on the abortion/childbearing thing, I think there are support groups that aren't disguised beat-you-up anti-abortion folks, and also perinatologists you could talk to about cerclage, in case maybe you can carry a baby (my mom did, after giving birth at 26 wks due to incompetent cervix). 

(Talk to doctor!  Get better meds, so Balloon Man can go the hell away!)

Best wishes,

sg

At first when I read it I started thinking that maybe there was a reason for hearing the voices, I mean I always try to see things for EVERY angle. So hearing voices could be a gift, I mean what if something is really there and you are hearing spirits. It's possible isn't it. I have heard voices before, I chalk it up as nothing unusual. Now as I read down further and see that you are actually seeing things, now that's something to think about. You might want to have a brain scan. I think there are several things that could cause visions so check out every option before you let someone tell you that you are schizo. Also understand that even if you are, it's a hard thing to handle at first but it can be controlled so don't be afraid. So ask your doc what he is really thinking and try to seek a neurologist.

Take care,

Erika