Scared to be alone

When I was younger, I didn't want to be tied down. I wanted the chance to date a lot since I hadn't dated in high school.

Now I'm 29 and I have had plenty of dating experience. I'm ready to settle down but there's no "match" anywhere to be seen. In fact, I live in a very young city and mostly seem to meet men who are younger than me and are still in "dating mode."

Suddenly I have started to feel desperate to meet someone. It's quite a terrifying feeling, really. I am attractive to men and get quite a bit of attention but I wonder how much longer it will be this way. We all know that men like younger women. If I can't meet a man now, won't it be that much harder when I'm 5 or 10 years older?

I feel very sad and worried when I begin to worry that I will never find anyone. My family is extremely small so I have always felt rather insecure and alone in the world since I don't have many blood relatives I can count on. It is so hard to face the world alone. I should have married when I was younger and had the chance. But I just wanted to be free and to have fun. Now I'm afraid that freedom has cost me companionship.

I'm 36 and single. Slender and reasonably attractive. I have no problem getting dates - and not just with 50+ year olds. You'd be surprised by how many men in their late 20s and early 30s prefer to date women who are a few years older (and not just because they think they are "easy").

The majority of the men I've met in the last couple of years seem serious about finding a marriage partner - not just a meaningless or casual relationship. Just like most things - I think the minority few give the majority a bad rap.

Don't fret... I think there's something to be said for the whole "you'll find someone when you least expect it" thing.