Some co-eds evicted for suicide attempts

"Policies barring potentially suicidal students from campus dorms have popped up across the country in recent years as colleges have struggled to decide how to best curb an estimated 1,100 suicides a year.

But just as quickly, some of those rules have come under attack."

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20060901/ap_on_...ollege_suicides

i graduated in '00. when i was in my sophomore year, i was between pdocs and living on a VERY rural campus. i decided to see the school doctor for psychiatric help to bridge me through until i could see my real gp at least. i at least needed some refills and a simple blood lithium check.

i sat in there on the exam table for a few minutes and then she came in. she asked me about how i was feeling. i told her i was suicidal and i especially needed my AD increased and probably my blood lithium level checked and maybe my lithium increased (I was on lithium and paxil at the time).

DO YOU KNOW WHAT SHE DID??!!! she took my hand and asked me if i was strong and if i believed in god and jesus, and asked me to kneel and PRAY WITH HER!!!

i started shaking and sobbing and ran away.

so no wonder there are suicides on campus. maybe they need doctors who treat MI like a health condition and don't try to play minister.

they did let me live in the dorms, but oddly enough, a few years prior to my residence in that particular room a guy had committed suicide in there. i always felt odd about that. it was the only room on campus that anyone remembered that anyone had committed suicide in. and of course, they gave ME that room.

DO YOU KNOW WHAT SHE DID??!!! she took my hand and asked me if i was strong and if i believed in god and jesus, and asked me to kneel and PRAY WITH HER!!!

That is just un-freaking-believeable! I am so sorry that you had to deal with something like that. That woman should not be practicing medicine.