New here, a question: what's more important?

I've been lurking here for a long time, as well as reading much other information on bipolar disorder. I have come to the conclusion that my mother likely suffers from undiagnosed bipolar disorder, possibly my sister as well, and most likely myself. I won't go into to all my reasons for coming to this conclusion because I don't have time to write it all down and you don't have time to read it. I will make the comparison that for me, it is like I have spent my whole life trying to solve math equations with half the variables missing, wondering what's wrong with me and why nothing makes sense, and now after becoming aware of bipolar disorder all the pieces are there and all the equations make perfect sense. I know I'm not a doctor; I have an appt next Wed to see someone (after an ultimatum from my husband), and I am torn about what, if anything, I can or will tell.

My question: what's more important? Getting treatment, or maintaining your life? I have read so much here about people in treatment that are still suffering terribly, so is it even worth it if I'll still be struggling? I'm struggling now but getting done what I need to get done to help support my family (my husband and I are equal earners). For me, telling the whole truth will mean losing my life as I know it, and will create great stress for me which makes me wonder if that will only make it all worse anyway.