Hello

Hi. I'm Mat. I'm 19 and I'm currently studying physics at university. (If that doesn't make me crazy I don't know what does ;) )

Hobbies: Juggling and playing guitar (I'm trying to teach myself) I waste most of my time on the internet though.

There are a few things I want to talk about here.. I usually avoid talking about the things that bother me and generally try and act as 'normal' as I can, so I haven't been diagnosed with anything in the past. Because of this I don't know how much I'm exaggerating things or.. um.. unexaggerating them. Sometimes I think I am being a hypochondriac.. convincing myself I have some mental disorder so that its not my fault I'm so weird. I have wondered if I have OCD just because I have a slight obsession with cleanliness and wash my hands more than neccesary when I'm feeding my pet snakes, but its hardly ruining my life.

My biggest problem is the hardest for me to talk about, as to me it seems stupid and pathetic. It's related to food, but I don't think its an eating disorder. I'm not aware of any name for it, but if I had to categorize it as anything I'd say it was a phobia. Basically, I'm an extremely picky eater, and it is very difficult for me to try new food. I've had it as long as I can remember. When I was younger I was constantly told I'd just grow out of it and eventually my parents gave up and ignored it. As a result of this I eat hardly any proper food and I've always been underweight. I avoid eating with other people and make excuses to get out of situations where I'd have to eat. When I do try something I don't like I get very nervous and sometimes the food will make me gag. It's not just the taste I have a problem with, as I don't have any problem with drinks I don't like. It's partly the texture but I think a lot of it is just in my head. The only information I've found on this is here.