emotions have been one of the trickiest things for me to figure out. being autistic is more of a side issue for me on it, because my entire family has the emotional abilities of two year olds. so there was no where to learn it anyway.

but, when i started therapy forever ago, that was one of the main things we started with. what ARE emotions? how can you tell if you have one? how can you tell if someone else has one? i still have very little clue about other people's, since their cues are too subtle for me.

we actually had to start with "mad sad glad" and it was a full year later before i graduated to "mad sad glad scared lonely". that's still where i am, but i'm good at telling when i have those five.

so i was just stumbling and came across this neat site for kids. it gives explanations of emotions (how to recognize if you or someone else is angry is a good one!). so for anyone who is interested:

http://kidshealth.org/kid/feeling/

i've found people are more willing to give proper explanations to kids because they assume adults know certain things that not everyone does know.

i hope other people find it interesting ;)

abifae

I ended up working on a philosophy degree to try and figure stuff like that out. "What are emotions?" That's not a question that can be answered without first defining all the other related terms, and it ends up taking half a million words and no two people who make it that far will agree anyway.

When you deal with questions like that in therapy the goal is to give you an answer that will keep you from going nuts and make it easier for you to interact with NTs. It's a means to an end. That doesn't mean it's the correct answer. For the most part I never did very well in therapy.

I think Aristotle had some stuff that isn't too hard to follow. I can look that up if you want.