Library Science!

I'm applying for grad school right now, plan to start on my Masters in the Spring. I know a few of you out there are librarians or library students - any advice for applying or for actually getting through school?

Just be prepared for lots of busy work. A library science degree is not what one would call academically rigorous. With a decent college average, you should be able to get in. Right now the need is greatest for childrens' librarians, but not everyone could do that (I couldn't). I've been a librarian for 16 years now and, yes, they already had computers when I went to library school.

Tommy

i'm NOT a librarian, but the librarians at my college didn't seem to know how to help me with looking up actual reference books. this may be something you'd want to actually learn if you want to work in any kind of academic setting. they were confused by the whole book-finding system. and it was a very small library (800 students). i think by the time i graduated i could find books more easily.

they were good with computers and taught computer classes all the time on how to use the inter-library book-find systems. they seemed to really be wizards wtih that. if you needed a book from the local state university, they could help you find that.

Right now the need is greatest for childrens' librarians, but not everyone could do that (I couldn't). I've been a librarian for 16 years now and, yes, they already had computers when I went to library school.

Tommy

Seriously? What does being a children's librarian entail, from your point of view? Why do you feel you are ill-suited to the job? What traits are needed? I suddenly want to know these things.

Right now the need is greatest for childrens' librarians, but not everyone could do that (I couldn't). I've been a librarian for 16 years now and, yes, they already had computers when I went to library school.

Tommy