Ok, to cut the long story short, I've been smoking for 12 years, but only diagnosed as BP earlier this year.

So after several med changes and one hospitalisation, I'm finally stable on a cocktail and was doing pretty well, so I discussed quitting smoking with my pdoc and asked for Zyban/Wellbutrin.

So I've been on Zyban for 3 weeks, and in the meantime reduced my cigarette consumption from about 12 a day to one or two or three a day. I no longer have cravings, and I'm just smoking out of habit, and also to as a way of slowing exhausting my small stockpile of cigarettes. Smoking doesn't give me a kick anymore.

But in the meantime I also noticed that my moods have been gradually sliding back towards the depressed side of the scale - I'm still stable, but just more depressed than before I stopped smoking.

Has this happened to anyone else before? I read that nicotine does increase the plasma concentration of my luvox and zyprexa - could it really be that my reducing my nicotine intake is reducing the level of meds in my system?

Yes. Yes.

To be blunt: You already read it in the PI sheets. ;)

Also as has been mentioned before, benzos like Temezapam can increase depression.

Be sure and mention it to you pdoc, and don't let the slide go to far.

Good luck on kicking the habit!

a.m.

p.s. med reactions and interactions aren't necessarily linear nor can they be isolated to a single drug acting in an on/off manner. Med adjustments are just going to be par for the course. That's why the pdocs get the big bucks.

Ok, to cut the long story short, I've been smoking for 12 years, but only diagnosed as BP earlier this year.

So after several med changes and one hospitalisation, I'm finally stable on a cocktail and was doing pretty well, so I discussed quitting smoking with my pdoc and asked for Zyban/Wellbutrin.