Worse before I'm better?

I'm a newbie-type, both to depression treatment and these boards.

I was put on Zoloft for about a month. I had a noticeable improvement on it--I went from feeling frozen and dead to just feeling miserable. Obviously, I'm shooting for something better! Last week my pdoc increased the dosage (from 75 to 100mg). I got tired, per usual, but that's fading a bit. Now I just feel....depressed. Sad.

I am in therapy for the first time as well, and I rather suspect that that's the real cause of my malaise (it's very difficult for me to open up, even after several months), but I thought I'd check.

How do docs know the "right" dosage--is it as good as I can feel while tolerating side effects? Is it possible to feel worse, depression-wise, at a higher dosage?

Thanks for your input.

Hi there.

Zoloft has a pretty linear presciption rate.

ie, they always start you off on 50mg, 100mg is the minimum therapeutic dose, and a lot of people need 150-200mg.

If you can, give 100mg a couple of weeks to fully take effect. At this point if you still arent feeling better it might be worth discussing either upping the dose or changingt to another ssri.

I can say from experience my wife was on 100mg, had a bad depressive episode, and they doubled her dose to 200mg. She has been been doing really well on 200mg, for over a year now.

There is a little bit of estimating with these meds as there are no clinical tests (eg brainscan or blood test) that are going to prove that you need to take a specific drug at a specific dose - a bit of hit and miss unfortunately. But most people get it right fairly quickly.

You pdoc is going to use his judgement based on experience and knowledge.

As you have described, taking a med that moves you from feeling dead or zombie like to being more functional and able to experience feelings again...