Apartment Shopping on SSD

hiya-

i have a real problem here. i'm trying to find new housing since the place i'm at now sucks and is too expensive for what i'm getting, and is too expensive at all for someone on SSD.

i checked out HUD and the only acceptable (safety-wise) places have long waiting lists.

that leaves me with regular apartments, both managed and with private landlords.

with no job, horrid credit, and ssd, i'm going to need a cosigner, probably my grandparents.

what do i say when they ask me what i do for a living? or where i work? how do i approach all of this? will management companies even consider me? is it enough to have a cosigner or do you think they need to rent it in their name for me?

loon

That's a good question.

I guess it all depends on where you live and the property managers/renter/apartment companies.

By law, they are not supposed to discriminate on the basis of disability. I think that if you tell them that you receive SSDI, they are not allowed to ask the nature of your disability. I think they are allowed to ask if you will be needing accommodations. Anyways, I would give it a try. If they ask about employment or sources of income, state you receive SSDI (and SSI, if that is the case) as an income source. Don't disclose that the disability is mental. They don't need to know that. That shows that you have a steady source of income. If I were you, I would apply directly and mention that you would receive SSDI/SSI and have a co-signer for your lease.

Of course, there are allowed to do a credit check. This part could trip you up. Of course, they might allow co-signers. But don't ask me----I am not too familiar. But I do know that it all depends.

I do know that where I live, the HUD/Section 8 has a 2 to 6 year waiting list just when you put in an application!