I am new to this board. In fact, I am new to bipolar. I have been lying to my family, pdoc and myself about being bipolar. I did a pretty good job (so I thought) of hiding my mania. Now I have embraced that I am bipolar type II. I got away with telling everyone I was just depressed because about 90% of the time I was severely depressed. Because my hypomania has gotten me in some trouble, I had no choice but to embrace the bipolar. I am now working very hard to try and get things under control.

I was put on Geodon 80mg at night a few weeks ago. My doc increased it to 160mg at night. The problem is I am completely wiped out in the morning and for about 1/2 of the day. I told my pdoc and he decreased the dose back down to 80mg. It has helped some with the tiredness and restlessness. The problem is I am an attorney and I need to be on my toes all the time. I have missed a ton of work, had to cancel appointments and hearings. It is really becomming a problem. My pdoc is sympathetic and assures me it will get better. Oh, another thing, after I take the Geodon, I can get to sleep. I lay and stare at the ceiling for hours. When I finally do get to sleep, I am out for the count. I do see a benefit. My mood appears stable and I have not been depressed since I started it.

Those with experience with Geodon, can you tell me if the tiredness eventually goes away. I am beginning to feel like I have traded one problem for a whole host of others.

Thanks.

hiya-

i took geodon for less than a week before side effects caused them to rip me off of it REALLY fast (i was in the hospital).

one of my side effects (not the major one) was being too exhausted to even open my eyes, much less get out of bed. the nurses couldn't get me out of bed. i was sleeping for 15+ hours a day. since i didn't continue on the treatment, i don't know if that sleepiness side effect would have continued or not.