Depression as a writing tool

Is anyone here a writer? Not just pro, but anyone who journals, etc. If so, do you get some good writing out of your depression?

I've been a writer since my teens, and depressed since then too (that makes 40 years, yikes!). Though I take an AD (wellbutrin), I still get depressed. When I do, I find myself drawn to the keyboard not to screw around on the Interrnet, but to write. I find that I write more when I'm depressed than not. Of course, most of the subject matter is a bit down and pessimistic, but then when the depression eases off, I can edit my writing and clean up what shouldn't be there.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that though I hate depression, I've found a way to use it, and use it profitably, since it's inevitable anyway. And sometimes I think that if they ever came up with a real cure for depression, I don't think I'd take it because I'm afraid my output would drop like a stone.

I tend to write more when I'm mildly down, or dealing with life issues, as a way to help work things out. Note that neither of those are the same thing as depressed. When I am depressed, I can't write can't think feel horrible. It's not a creative state for me at all; it's the antithesis of creative. Writing does nothing to help, because the problem isn't cognitive, i.e. it's not a problem I need to figure out, it's a problem that needs treating.

If someone invented a pill to fix bipolar disorder, I would take it immediately. I would love to not have my output dragged down by reduced ability to function.

I am hoping to go pro and I DO find being mentally interesting has led me to some marvolous writing as well as mind expanding new thought. Depression or the mixed anxiety/depression lends a weird dark urgency to my writing, so yeah, I think that you are really on to an under-used path way to creativity.