Is Adderall In My Cards?

Loon-A-TiK

hiya-

i've been complaining about my ADD (inattentive) forever, since even before my DX. it is dangerous, to the point where i cause traffic accidents, almost run people over at crosswalks, and am a general flake. my idea of taking meds is "sometime in the morning".

i've been told that because of my cocktail, they'd really rather not give me adderall. they'd rather me just learn to live with it. but it is at the point (and has been) where it is dangerous to myself and others.

i finally got that through to my pnurse, who made me take the evaluation again just to be sure. now he's going to talk it over with the actual pdoc, who can write a script for adderall or not.

i've already tried strattera and am on WB. neither has done anything.

do you think this will be a problematic combo? do you think they're going to come back with a script for adderall, or one of the other choices? i'm new to the world of stims and i'm sure you guys are familiar with them because you've had to deal with them.

From what I understand it is not safe to use stimulants in cases of ADD with comorbid or coexisting bp unless manic and psychotic symptoms have been stabilized for quite a while. Otherwise there is a likelihood of a worsening of psychotic symptoms. Some go so far as to say they should never be used with individuals who have ever been psychotic.

Have you tried strattera?

Strattera didn't work for me either, Loon. I ended up on a rather high dose, which I believe was a contributing factor to my belly flop in February. It was also the only medication my psychiatrist was willing to consider for treating my ADD, which he's only half-convinced I have. He prescribed me alertec (Provigil's Canadian name) just this afternoon, so we'll see if that has any affect on anything.