All alone in a foreign country and in grad school, on top of that

Could someone recommend what I can do to or someone that I can talk to? I'm a grad student in the US and not originally from here. I am taking meds and also seeing the school consellor once a week, but that's it. Apart from that I have very little interaction of a more personal level. I can make small talk in class with others and all that but once I'm out of the class, where and to whom can I turn?

I am already stressed at school (It seems I might have bitten off more than I can chew, but now there is no turning back) and with the weather starting to change, can feel the onset of the winter blues already. I know I'll be able to handle school better if I have more human contact ( and the worst part is that I will be dealing mainly with animals in my research!). I've thought of joining various clubs, organizations, groups etc but they're full of cheery people who just make me feel worse about myself. Plus with a full schedule, it's hard to make time for such activities.

Any other grad students who feel they're in a similar situation? Woule any one like to exchange emails on a regular basis, to bolster each other's spirits and morale? Maybe even speak on the phone every once in a while. I know this sounds pathetically needy, but I could use all the support I can get.

Please help/advice ..

(And sorry if this message is comes as very vague and illdefined.)

Where are you from? Have you had any luck finding expats from your native country anywhere?

I'm from India and and though I have acquaintances from my home country, it's almost impossible to talk about this with them due to the stigma attached with it and also due to the low levels of awareness about the condition, in general.

I'm in grad school.....and it is overwhelming.........

and friends are VITAL to get you through this.

I don't think you sound needy. I think you sound healthy for reaching out for support.