So a few months back I took the Strong Interest Inventory and my top matching occupation was Registered Nurse. I was just wondering if any of the RNs on the board could tell me how they manage having a MI and holding down a nursing job at the same time.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook says: "They need emotional stability to cope with human suffering, emergencies, and other stresses." While perhaps an obvious fact about nursing, it is one that gives me serious pause.

What else can I do to find out if nursing is for me? I've read about all the different speciallizations and educational requirements.

I have been a RN since 1992, I was 22 yrs old when I graduated nursing school with no history of mental illness. I went to work in the Surgical ICU. By the time I was 23 I was often in charge of a 20 bed ICU. How I pulled that off at such a young age is still amazing to me. With 14 yrs experience under my belt and a diagnosis of bipolar I mixed with psychotic episopes, I know I couldn't do that today.

My first manic/psychotic episode landed me in the psych hospital (involuntarily) at 29 yrs old. After a few months of a mental health vacation I jumped right back into the stressful situation of being an ICU nurse again. It was hard as hell. As much as I loved working in ICU, I knew the stressors were too much for me to manage in a healthy way. I managed the stress by self-medicating, not a good idea, and I had also stopped taking my psych meds (they made me too "fuzzy" to think clearly, which is a must in nursing!)