i've always wondered why addictions are considered in the psychiatric community, and by insurance companies, to be a disease.

maybe this is because i've never been an addict.

i was born bipolar. that is a disease. there isn't a thing i can do about it.

someone, while maybe genetically more prone to falling into a trap once opening it, is not being forced to get drunk or high. that is a choice.

so i don't really get where everyone is coming from who says that it is a disease. how can a choice be a disease? every time that person drinks or uses, that person is making the choice to do it. when i have a mania, that is not a choice.

can someone explan?

Hi Loon

I am far from an expert on the subject but I think the use of the term "disease" applied to addictions has to do with changing attitudes toward their treatment. They have become increasingly medicalized, in no small part due to better efforts to intercede via medications (as opposed to more traditional behavioral methods).

But someone else should correct/amend here . . .

cheers

-blackie

I'm on the fence.

Addiction changes your personality, your values, your sense of right and wrong, your ability to make rational decisions. The substance thinks for you. Once you're an addicted it often stops being a choice. Mothers trading their babies for a substance? That can't be a choice. Think about it.

You don't have to born with something for it to be a disease. Nobody is born with AIDS or cancer either. That doesn't mean they aren't diseases.

so i don't really get where everyone is coming from who says that it is a disease. how can a choice be a disease? every time that person drinks or uses, that person is making the choice to do it. when i have a mania, that is not a choice.

can someone explan?