CrazyBoards.org

what would you do?

Hello all

Some of you know that I work in the pharma industry and therefore have my own personal bias towards certain meds. Not that my docs let me take whatever med I want... oh no! I just happen to spend the better part of my life reading studies for a living and travelling all over the globe to listen to doctors talk to other doctors about what we know to be true and what they think to be true.

Here's a new problem... I have just been promoted to represent some very big pharma companies. What no one at my company knows is that I take 11 pills every day to keep my act together and do this job. I am now in charge of a medical forum in Malaysia that is on the topics of major depressive disorder, bipolar and schitzo-affective disorder.

I HAVE ALL OF THE ABOVE!

I am putting together the slide presentations for the key speakers.

OH MY GOD IS THIS HARD!

For them it's all about high n numbers and low p numbers. And all I can think about is the fact that I have been hospitalized so many times and the meds have saved my life, BUT I have to live with the side effects every day which are numerous. I take beta blockers to stop the shaking that all the anti-psychotics and mood stabilizers cause.

So what I wonder is this...

Should I come clean and tell them their golden girl is sicker than most of their patients? Some days at work I have to go for a long walk just to calm down and other days I read a report and want to kiss the researcher. Maybe I should change my career.

Nope, don't say a thing.

You have no ethical or moral obligation to disclose your med/psych conditions.

There is no conflict of interest.

You have nothing to gain by exposing yourself. Craziness will become a self fulfilling prophecy. Right now you are the golden girl and any difficulties are written off as quirks. Tell them you are crazy and everything from last quarter's production to how you pour sugar in your coffee will become confirmation of the fact.