New pdoc

My old pdoc is an asshole, drastically changed from a compassionate partner to an antagonistic dick as his practice grew too large for him to manage. (Yes, please do take it out on me!)

Anyway, I've found a new pdoc, met with him the first time today. He reminds me of my former assistant (when I used to have a job that allowed me one; now I'm a lowly teacher), which is comforting to me. He seems nice enough, and certainly smart, and he knew who Michael Stipe is when I mentioned him. ;)

Tdoc agrees that a change is in order. So now all the remains is to cut off the old pdoc. I have half a mind to cancel my next appointment with him, tell his office wench that I won't be seeing him anymore, and go on to the next. Even though I've been with him for 13 years, I don't feel regret or a sense of loss about terminating, and I don't feel I owe him one more out-of-pocket payment for the sake of terminating. When I listed my concerns about his practice, complete with examples, he brushed me off in a pretty offensive way. Even the people in the hospital told me I wasn't getting my money's worth. This new guy costs twice as much, but I sort of don't mind -- it's not easy money for me, but good care is worth it.

Any comments on the termination issue? Do I have to do a proper termination with a guy who I basically saw for 10-15 min. every 3 months?

Thanks for input,

clumsycrawling

Yes, first have your records transferred.

Then, if you want, write a "Dear pdoc" letter, and briefly state the reasons you have departed to a new pdoc. Specify your issues again. State how long you have gone to that pdoc and that you cannot take the bullshit anymore.

Even with a practice so large, pdocs need to care about their image. Tell every crazy person you know about this monster! Make him pay! ;)