CrazyBoards.org

Are my 'quirks' obssessional?

I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV, but this sounds outside of the "quirk" area to me.

They fact that you know things aren't making sense and the amount of time you spend with the skin picking...well...tell your doctor. Even if it is a GP, you can get a referral.

Sorry for posting this, I post far too much, i just don't have anyone I can talk to about this, and I feel like I need outside confirmation.

16 posts to date isn't "too much". We've people who post more than that in a day!

I've got a couple of quirks, not mentioned any of them to my doctor (I've only got a gp - dx depression and gad)

Does this sound like anything, or am I just an odd person?

Nothing wrong with being a bit odd. These quirks do sound like something that should be looked into more. When you have

things like this intruding into your life and just not going away, it is very useful to get a second or third opinion. I'll go out on a limb

and suggest seeing a psychologist first, as the skin "picking" was triggered (or at least made far worse) by being abused.

Psych meds may still be needed, but a psychologist would still be helpful in working out coping/mitigation methods.

Sorry for posting this, I post far too much, i just don't have anyone I can talk to about this, and I feel like I need outside confirmation.

[...]

Does this sound like anything, or am I just an odd person?

It sounds like OCD to me. I know a lot of odd, quirky people (bless 'em!) who do have their own way of doing things. However, when one knows their behavior is irrational and is unable to change it, I think that starts getting into OCD territory.