CrazyBoards.org

hiya-

i was DXed with ADD (inattentive) about a year ago after a lot of analysis by my treatment team. they tried to treat it with strattera, and now i take 30mg adderall xr.

i've been on ssdi since september for my MI issues. while i don't believe that i'm very much better and i don't know how brittle i am, i'm eager to work again. i can't live on the ssdi money i get.

even with adderall, my attention/focus issues still remain. i couldn't learn the register well enough at my part time gas station job i just had, so i got fired after 3 weeks there (it could also have been that i needed accommodations though).

i feel like i'm stupid. i feel like i'll never be able to learn anything, even something as stupid as a cash register (it was touch screen with functions hidden in different menus, but still). the high schoolers i worked with understood the register and i didn't. i have a college degree and i couldn't operate a cash register.

i've signed up for the orientation to go to vocational school to brush up on skills in my field (IT help desk) and do my trial work period. that is, if i can keep a job for longer than 3 weeks.

do you think it is too soon, or that i'm probably operating at my maximum and may be like this forever? i am MI and i do take a lot of meds. is this maybe the best i'll ever be? is it maybe not that the adderall isn't working, but that i'll just never be able to be what i want to be? i don't know if i need an adderall increase, if i need a different medication, if i'm naturally stupid, or if it is just the way things will be because of my MI (which would kinda fall under naturally stupid)?

i'm asking you guys because you're in the same boat and know what has and hasn't worked out for you. whether you're on disability or holding down a job, you know something about what it is like to try to learn in a work environment.