CrazyBoards.org

Are we real?

DID contoversy page #1

Wiki

More Wiki on DID

I should not read psych web site while in a fragile state, but i am having a real problem feeling like I'm real, like I exist as an identity. When I have memories or flashbacks, are they real or delusions? I have very little family left alive, and we are not at all close. Trying to get more than vague statements about my life out of my father is an ordeal.

I want to be real, but I'm afraid that I've just made myself up like all the other characters I've created for my life long inner fantasy world and my writings.

sorry, just having reality issues.

Panz the invalidated entity

There is one important sentence from the first article...

"if I was a therapist"

IF

Yeah, there are crappy therapist. Yeah, I do not doubt that some took some messed up people and messed them up more. But the author seems to imply that it is all because of the book Sybl and it is a North American "invention" of sorts.

This directly contridicts that....

"In recent years Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID), formerly known as Multiple Personality Disorder (MPD), despite the controversy that surrounds virtually every aspect of the phenomenology, diagnosis, and treatment of this condition, has been diagnosed and treated with increasing frequency. Careful studies using reliable and valid screening measures and structured interviews have demonstrated that previously undiagnosed DID is a rather common disorder, occurring in between 3

Panz,

I don't really know what to say, other than that I am sorry that you're in this difficult place, and I believe that if we can be brave and quiet enough to sit with ourselves, then we can often navigate the truth better.

"if I was a therapist"

IF