CrazyBoards.org

Is is BPD II or...

When I first visited my psychiatrist (few yrs ago), I was told I had rapid cycling Bipolar Disorder II. This made sense to, as I majored in Psych, and done my research.

At one visit, I mentioned to my Dr that I often had auditory illusions. For example, if my roommate was using the shower, I'd think the noise of the water running was actually a low-volume radio. My Dr said my brain was probably overactive and she confirmed her suspicion by administering an ADD questionnaire. So then I was diagnosed with ADD.

So my question is, what's the difference between someone with Bipolar II vs someone with the combo of ADD and depression?

I don't think I have ADD, but god forbid I dispute the allmighty questionnaire!! lol

So auditory illusions make you ADD? Weird. I'm guessing it just has to do with what meds will help your particular brain cooties. Did your doc prescribe something new because of the dx? You can be BPII and ADD, the ADD doesn't cancel out the BP and knock you back to depression.

I personally don't give a crap what some dude with a degree calls me, as long as the treatment is working. People have told me BPII rapid, BPI, ADD... I think it just helps with insurance and whoever likes people in nice little categories.

Congrats on acing the questionnaire.

Anybody want to guess what my current official (marked-on-the-charts diagnosis is)? Highlight the below lines between the asterisks to find out... and also get my rampant rantings on psychological diagnoses:

My official diagnosis is "Bipolar I, most recent episode mixed". I assume that's because I told the pdoc I was irritable a few weeks ago, since that's about when my chart diagnosis changed from II to I. I have never (yet) had anything even resembling full-on mania... or a prolonged mixed state, for that matter. I had a brief truly mixed state for about 3 days after getting acrimoniously fired in 11/2005, but I went back to more normal very quickly.